Non Fiction

Micro Living by Derek “Deek” Diedricksen

I requested this ARC from NetGalley a long time ago, I finally got around to reading it just before its publication date (tomorrow). Anyone who has spent any time watching home improvement channels, either in the US or on Netflix would have heard of the tiny house movement. There have always been homes/dwellings where people had to make adjustments, but this movement is more about making a conscious effort to reduce the footprint on the surroundings or the environment either for monetary or for ethical reasons.

I have had the opportunity to stay in some of the more unique accommodations on offer in the US, from a small room in a tepee type of building sunken in a cave like way to a converted RV which was cosy for a night in Pahrump,Nevada ( I do not think we were up to any longer than a day in such a setup. Our experiences in these quaint places was more of an adventure, but I need to take my hats off to those who continue to live in such a set up on a daily basis. This has led to a continuing fascination with shows that deal with tiny houses. I thought I would be interested in a book detailing a few of those and I was right. I was excited to see two houses which I recognised from some episode I watched before!

This book has detailed pros and cons, options and drawings. It is almost like a toolkit for anyone who might have been considering the move, to start putting things in perspective. There are also a few takeaways for those of us who might want to implement some of the space-saving tactics in our daily life.

This book is most useful for those who are seriously considering building or having a tiny home built.

1 thought on “Micro Living by Derek “Deek” Diedricksen”

Leave a comment