Thriller

All We Buried by Elena Taylor

I read this book a couple of days ago. On that day, I updated my list, was organized and felt pleased with myself. When I checked today, I realized that it was at the beginning of the week, and since then, I have done next to nothing on the blog. In our new normal I am hanging out with friends every day virtually, we probably have spent more face time together as we once did during our undergrad time, only then we were all living on the same floor. We do not talk all the time, it is mostly around whichever game we are binging on at the time, and as of today, we started playing code names. I got a Disney version of this game for my niece but did not figure out how to play it properly when I was still visiting, but I want to play the game with her someday soon!

I have seen a lot of cover pages which tout that a particular book will be useful for fans of specific other authors and more often than not, I usually struggle to see the relationship. In this case, although I haven’t seen a comparison, I would say it will appeal to fans of Kendra Elliot and Melinda Leigh.

There is a strong but uncertain woman at the helm. She was cornered into a role she did not consider would be hers for decades. She is now the next Sheriff Rivers, one in a long line and she has a weighty mantle to bear. In the course of the narrative, she finds her footing and grows as a more mature person. Interrupted in her ruminations about her future, Bet is informed of a body. She hurries over and starts to piece things together. It is a painstaking process, and she does it diligently. We are given complete access to her thought process, and we can identify the criminal only when Bet decides to reveal the information. There is also an older story in the background which is equally gripping. Finally, it is well-told throughout the book, and it was a quick read which I can highly recommend to readers of the romantic sub-genre of thrillers. The people who formed the supporting cast are all distinct and play different roles each.

I received an ARC thanks to NetGalley and the publishers, but the review is entirely based only on my own reading experience of this book and others of its ilk.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s