Adventure, Historical fiction

The English Führer by Rory Clements

Narrated by Adam Sims

This is the last book in a series that I have not followed. I wanted to read/ listen to this because of its intriguing plotline.

This book was slow initially. Part of it was due to the scene setting. There are mysterious submarines and illnesses. The other part was due to the fact that several characters should have been known to anyone who’s read the previous works, took some time for me to get acclimatized to.

Once the story got going and several seemingly separate stories started to gather up together, it got really interesting. Apart from the time it took, it never bothered me that I did not know what everyone has been up to previously.

Tom Wilde thinks his spying days are behind him when he gets roped into a new mysterious illness. He is also in the literal bad books of the nazis, the ones who still roam free. I must mention ( a little late), that this book is after World War II. This basically means that the west is rebuilding itself and things are not very easy for almost everyone.

I think the biggest plus of the book has to be the twists. They are believable, yet completely unexpected. I was extremely excited when the end rolled around.

The author also included notes on the actual historical facts which added an extra layer to the narrative.

I would highly recommend this book to readers of the historical fiction genre. Someday I will try the rest of the books as well.

The narrator did a brilliant job of keeping the tone of the story going and I was immediately immersed in the goings on, even if I picked up the book after a long gap.

I received an ARC thanks to Netgalley and the publishers but the review is entirely based on my own listening experience.

Leave a comment