Adventure

The Smuggler’s Apprentice of Guatemala by Lachlan Page

This is a very short novella which will therefore have an equally short review.

I have read and reviewed the other book in the series – Magical Disinformation, this book is a precursor to the events in that book.

Our lead protagonist is living his life, trying to not be part of the mainstream expat community as he uses his good Spanish in Guatemala. He is approached for a job he never even knew he might be in the running for and this changes his life in several ways.

It is a chaotic set of events, written well and more entertaining if you already know the lead character or plan to get to know him later.

I might not have remembered the events in the other book as well as I would have liked when picking this one up, but I did remember the tone and I enjoyed it then and now.

I would recommend this book to people who like ordinary people placed in unlikely situations in remote locations. I know that the recommendation is very precise but the combination is what worked for me, so I am passing on that information for anyone interested.

I received an ARC thanks to Netgalley and the publishers but the review is entirely based on my own reading experience.

Leave a comment