Non Fiction

Consumed by Aja Barber

This is a very passionate book. A few years ago I went down the rabbit hole of thinking about my own consumption. Every time I reach a position I think I’m comfortable in justifying, even to myself, something happens to change things. Right now it’s the comfort of using disposable diapers, something I always hoped to rise above.

This book is not about the larger environmental health but does touch upon relevant details. I had it on my virtual shelf for a long time before I actually got around to reading it and the truth is hard to digest.

The author does bring colonialism into focus on terms of what preceded the current state of affairs in the world when it comes to green washing in corporate structures.

The main focus of the book is, however, entirely on fast fashion and all that that entails. I did make a mental now to hone my own sewing skills and/ or get more clothes tailored in the future, but if either of those options are possible, only time will tell!

My copy was a review one although it’s been a while since the book was released. I mention this because for a point about cultural appropriation the author talks of Indian and Pakistani girls wearing bindis in the past, which I sincerely hope was a typo and not in the final copy) because the latter wouldn’t be wearing bindis in the first place.

The tone of the book is of someone advising and scolding another and rightly so, but it may not be something people would be willing to peruse. It is easier to not know the details and indulge for many people. Once given the details, it is harder to ignore the issue at large.

I received an ARC thanks to Netgalley and the publishers but the review is entirely based on my own reading experience.

Leave a comment