Arts & Crafts& food, Non Fiction

The Nutmeg Trail by Eleanor Ford

Usually, a book of recipes is not one that I manage to completely read and review. It is hard to gauge how to talk about a book like this. This time around, when I started reading this book, I was pleasantly surprised by its format and content.
It has a lot more non-vegetarian content than is required by me, despite which I think this is a pretty great book to have on my shelf (it still exists solely on my virtual shelf- but it is the thought that counts). There are several things I can talk about when it comes to the content, and I will do it in the order of what appealed to me.
First, there was the listing of all the spices with the kind of flavour they provide to any dish. The listing is nuanced and extensive, making it interesting reading even for someone who uses a huge chunk of the spices on a daily basis. I do not buy readymade blends and prefer to make my own for different dishes, and this definitely piqued my interest.
Then there was the history itself. The author wove in the idea of the mingling of cultures and how trade and travel brought about gradual changes in different places. It is not a complete history of all spices, but it has enough to satisfy an average enthusiast.
Finally, the recipes are all very varied, and as I mentioned earlier, several of them were not of much use to me, but they will be for anyone with an adventurous palate.
Overall this is a book I would highly recommend for foodie readers!
I received an ARC thanks to Netgalley and the publishers, but the review is entirely based on my own reading experience.

Leave a comment