Romance, Sci Fi

A Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird #1) by Claudia Gray

A Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird, #1)

Almost a year ago I saw this review by Shanah @Bionic Book Worm and I found it interesting enough to add to my TBR (I used to still do that then, I have since controlled those urges because my TBR is not happy with me). I periodically check and see if my library has any of those books in stock and if they do I jump at the chance to work my way through them. My library recently stocked this series.

The platform on which the story is built on the concept of interdimensional travel. I have not had too much luck with books involving time travel but this sideways travel appealed to me more. It has a lot of standard tropes, but they are done well and play themselves out to the fullest extent. The biggest of them might be the concept of fate/destiny. I highly recommend going into this book with the expectation of a high dose of romance.

We have Meg/Marguerite is a daughter of loving, if eccentrically brilliant parents. She shares her home with her sister a passing hoard of graduate students who get entangled in her life on a regular basis. It is this setup and the narration that appealed to me. All the characters were fun to watch. When this story begins, the closest to her are two men/boys vying for her affection. One turns out to be a villain and this is something that she sets out to rectify. We jump through four other dimensions in this story and I actually enjoyed that part more than any of the others. I will let the characters explain what the consequences of interdimensional travel are in this story(when you read the book) since they are also learning of certain ‘difficulties’ as they traverse the different dimensions. The goals keep changing and adjustments take varying levels of dedication and I think these jumps have laid a foundation for some interesting future dimensions. There was one twist of the few in the book that I could guess quite easily but it did not spoil much for me since they ease it into the revelations in such a manner that makes it seem quite elementary to them as well, and as a direct consequence I did not feel too bad about guessing it.

It is an easy read, with the story ending at a very balanced spot, and I am curious about where the book will go next. I would have rated this higher but I am reserving judgment with more expectations from the next one.

When I was searching for the original post that I saw this book in, to link here I came across an interesting and completely opposite take here by Kat @ Novels and Waffles which made sense to me even as I continue to like the book!

Leave a comment