Mystery

Murder Uncorked by Maddie Day

I always like giving a new series a chance. I picked this up because it is the first in another cozy mystery series with a different setup. Our leading lady works at a wine bar and an unlikeable man makes an appearance in the beginning and we know who the intended victim will be.

I liked the concept of the group of businesses working in close proximity and the way everyone interacts with each other. The mystery plot itself was not for me. I figured out the culprit early on, even though it did not seem like the entire situation was worth the trouble they went into.

The writing is simple, and you can feel the weather and surroundings of the places the author describes, but ultimately, it is not a series I will be continuing with. I found it easy to read all the way through in few sittings.

I received an ARC thanks to NetGalley and the publishers, but the review is entirely based on my own reading experience.

Leave a comment