Historical fiction, Mystery

Secrets of a Scottish Isle by Erica Ruth Neubauer

I have read a scattered few of this series, missing one or two in between. This time around, the duo is in rural Scotland, and the author sets the scene well. The remote location and the cold and biting wind are well documented, and whatever else I thought of the mystery itself, I could imagine our characters wandering the island mentioned.

This is a book that one can pick up regardless of prior knowledge of the escapades the couple have been in earlier. There are only passing references to other people who do not make an appearance here.

This plot revolves around a group of people who are dabbling in things that the more traditional folks do not believe in. One of their numbers ends up dead, and although this is not part of the original plan.

The plot itself rolled forward in a straightforward manner, but I was more interested in the surroundings than the investigation and the consequences. I had not planned to continue with this series until I saw the setting and I got exactly that.

I think fans of this series will appreciate this book more than I did, I would definitely read another series by the author even if I do not continue with this one.

I received an ARC thanks to NetGalley and the publishers but the review is entirely based on my own reading experience.

2 thoughts on “Secrets of a Scottish Isle by Erica Ruth Neubauer”

  1. There seems to be a lot of island fiction around at the moment, I’ve read two set on small irish islands this year, Where I End by Sophie White and Hagstone by Sinéad Gleeson, they all have a slightly eerie feel to them. This sounds a bit like that genre, if there’s such a thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Not really actually, this sticks to the historical cozy mystery genre with the added advantage of the scene setting 🙂 I have hagstone on my to read as well! The magical angle is purely for the plot itself.. The island is more present as the weather

      Like

Leave a comment