Non Fiction

Tenacious Beasts by Christopher J.Preston

As I work my way through my large virtual backlog, I have read quite a few non-fiction that have taken me on different journeys. The particular book was particularly enlightening.

I did not expect the Netherlands to be at the centre of a lot of the topics discussed here, and that brought the content a little closer home (since I live here now). The author also has a very interesting style of narration. There is an upbeat, chatty nature to the way things are told without pushing it too far away from the animals being discussed or the seriousness of what changes human history has done to the animals in the now-populated areas.

The chapters are divided by the animals they focus on while sometimes talking a bit about a previously discussed creature. The author includes a ‘how to read the book section in the very beginning, which effectively captures his intention with what we are about to read, and I think that paragraph is enough for readers to decide if the book is for them or not. Basically,(and I am quoting here) he highlights the changes each recovering species demands. He has managed to talk about different viewpoints (along with his own).

There is a lot of information within these pages – history and geography also play an important role in setting the scene. I left this book on my virtual shelf for a long time before getting to it. When I finally did, I ended up working my way through it very quickly.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone with even a remote interest in nature and wildlife.

I received an ARC thanks to NetGalley and the publishers but the review is entirely based on my own reading experience.

Leave a comment