Chick lit, Mystery

The Dog Sitter Detective Takes the Lead by Antony Johnston

I read the first book of this series last year and reviewed it on my blog. I am glad I gave the next in the series a shot because I am starting to enjoy the author’s writing style and the lead protagonist more after this visit.

Gwinny found work at the end of the previous book in both her original field and as a dog-sitter. This time around, we get to see how she fares in both of those roles. In her professional acting life, she has more surprises in store than she would have liked. As a dog-sitter, she likes her charges and enjoys keeping them active, so when she gets a call from a musician to care for his dog when he goes on tour, Gwinny accepts.

As expected in books like this, someone does turn up dead shortly once all the extra characters are introduced. Gwinny is openly curious and meddles without even giving much of a reason as to why she does it. Her romantic life is handled delicately and simply, making it interesting to watch unfold.

I guessed the culprit quite early in the investigation because of what the author mentions. This did not affect my overall reading experience since I enjoyed the writing more than the plot itself.

I would recommend this series to fans of the genre who like the idea of a more mature and reasonably steady protagonist.

I received an ARC thanks to NetGalley and the publishers but the review is entirely based on my own reading experience.

Leave a comment