Book Recommendations

Mega Stats 2023

I found myself doing this a couple of years ago and I have(thus far) managed to keep doing it. My last year’s post was: Back from Hiatus – Mega Stats 2022! I ended up postponing the post last year because I did not end up finishing it. I am starting this just as the new year is an hour away, so I will probably let this sentence stay and wrap up the post for the first of 2024.

You can find my long lists in last year’s post:

I reviewed 331 books this year, the reason for this number and the fact that I actually read more that I could not count because I haven’t reviewed them are in my previous post.

My Average rating continues to be 3.6. I think the number of books I read lends itself to numbers like this.

Given my drive to finish as many of my pending advance review copies, this is good to know.
Once again, given the sheer volume of the books, this is not bad. A slight dip from the previous year’s but I hope to catch up this year.

Genres:

Short stories went up

Short stories were: Drama (5), Horror! (2), Mystery (5), Romance (3), Sci-Fi(3) – Some were even a mix of multiple genres.

Graphic Novels: Drama/Young Adult (2), Historical fiction (4), History (1), Humour (3), sci-Fi (1) and Thriller (1).

Non-Audio Pages read: 99986. I spent very little time travelling this year (for obvious reasons). Which is why the audio count will be really low this year.

Number of Pages by Genre and the blue is non fiction
Number of Pages versus genre and gender
There was no hope for this graph this year
NationalityFMMultiple
American11521
American Cambodian1
Angolan1
Australian9
Australian Chinese1
British82137
British Chinese1
British Ghanian1
British Indian5
British Sri-Lankan1
Burundian1
Canadian82
Canadian Chinese2
Chinese American2
Columbian American1
Danish1
Dutch11
Filipina-American1
Filipino1
French33
Indian42
Indian American3
Irish62
Italian1
Japanese2
Japanese American2
Korean American1
Mexican1
New Zealander11
Nigerian1
Portuguese1
Rwandan1
Scottish12
Singaporean21
Spanish1
Swedish1
Taiwanese2
Vietnamese American1
World24
Since I decided to elaborate on the nationalities, this table has gotten slightly bigger.

Original languageFemale translatorMale Translator
Chinese
Danish
Dutch1
French43
Italian1
Japanese2
Portuguese1
Swedish1
Spanish2
No Indian Languages this time, but still more varied than last year. French is mostly due to the Europa comics that I count as translations.

Audio listening time was only 3 days and 20 minutes, less than half my usual, but that will definitely spike now. I predicted the same thing last year but I wasn’t to know what the year held for me. Only eleven audiobooks

Gender of Narrator
Position of book in a series – I started 54 new series’! 213 books were standalone out of the 331.
Where I got my books from. Yet again, not a surprise
Not Very meaningful since I almost exclusively read ARCs this year
Ratings by Genre
Year of Publication vs no.of books. Once again, not a surprise
Predominant year the book was based in. A lot more books casually include the effects of the pandemic now. Only those cross the 2020 mark on my chart even if the author has placed in recent times.

Finally, places my books took me to: 2 in space,4 at sea, 6 Dystopian worlds, 32 fantasy ones and 7 cover more than one place.

Extremely happy with the travels last year and looking forward to the next!

Leave a comment